I AM NOT GROWN AND PROUD OF IT!


Today I was talking on the phone with my mother and she said one of the most condescending things a mother can say to their 33-year-old daughter, she said Hattie you are growing up.  Now growing up to my mother means I finally said something she agrees with, but it made me think.  First I was annoyed, I mean I am 33, I have an 8-year-old son.  I have been married for 2 years and 10 days(YEAH).  I have been out of her house for 8 years consecutively lived with my then boyfriend now husband for about 3 yrs, and I was in college before that.  So why was it I was just in her mind “growing up”.  I sat in my room annoyed by the audacity of her words.  I know they sound harmless but when said by a mother to anyone who is as old as I am it sounds like an insult wrapped in a compliment.

After taking out my computer to thoroughly document my annoyance I thought about what she said in 2 other ways. I thought I seriously do not wish to grow up, at least not in the way where my thoughts simply agree with my mothers. If God had wanted us to always agree why did he make me and not some other daughter for her.  No! I was placed here to challenge her.  To make sure she always has a reason to pray and so her mind stays sharp.  I mean you must have a quick wit to keep up with me.  The other way I thought is I am growing, each day I learn something new,  something about myself, about the world, about life.  So if I am constantly growing, how exactly can I say I am grown.  So I guess in some ways mom is right, I am growing up. I just want her to know I will constantly be growing up for the rest of my life, and I am glad she is here to challenge me and keep me praying often.

~ by adjoapacheco on December 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
